Auto Insurance » All States » NC-North Carolina Auto Insurance

North Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes

If you have been looking for information on auto insurance in North Carolina and some of the best auto insurance deals, then you have come to the right place as you will find comprehensive information on the auto insurance laws that prevail in North Carolina. With this bit of information you will be better equipped to determine the type of coverage you will require and the policy you will have to purchase. This has to meet the requirements of the state and also suit your individual needs. After you have arrived at what you need in your policy, you can obtain quotes online from multiple insurance providers who are authorized to operate in the state of North Carolina.

North Carolina Liability Insurance Requirements

Like most states, North Carolina requires that motorists maintain liability insurance coverage on all vehicles that are registered in the state.? Minimum amounts of coverage must be maintained in order to cover bodily injuries and property damage caused by a motor vehicle accident.? The minimum amount of coverage required for bodily injuries for one person in one accident is $30,000.? The minimum amount of coverage required for all bodily injuries in one accident is $60,000.? Property damage must be covered by a minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance.? North Carolina also requires that motorists purchase and maintain uninsured motorist coverage on each registered vehicle.

Uninsured or Underinsured Coverage

This is a coverage that will help in protecting you as well as the other passengers who are injured by an uninsured driver. As per the prevailing laws in North Carolina, you should have a minimum coverage of $30,000 per person and coverage up to $60,000 per accident for causing bodily injury by an uninsured/underinsured driver.

Who is Responsible for Accident Expenses?

North Carolina uses the tort system for determining who is responsible for paying expenses after a motor vehicle accident.? Under the tort system, a driver is found to be at fault for an accident and that driver is then responsible for paying expenses related to the accident.? Drivers who are at fault for accidents may also be sued in civil court.? For example, if bodily injuries to one person in an accident result in $40,000 in medical expenses and the driver at fault only maintains the $30,000 minimum liability coverage, they could be sued for the remaining $10,000 in expenses.

Since, the tort system is followed in the state of North Carolina investigations will be carried out to arrive at who is at-fault or who is responsible for causing the accident. Then the person at-fault as well as their insurance company will be responsible and will have to cover all the damages. However, the tort system varies from one state to another.

North Carolina Proof of Insurance

Like most states, you must provide proof of insurance for each registered vehicle in North Carolina.? You can provide the DMV with your policy number and the name of your insurance company or hand in a certificate of insurance that is provided by your insurance carrier.? These are considered acceptable forms of proof of insurance.

North Carolina Penalties for Failing to Maintain Coverage

If you do not maintain the required insurance coverage on your vehicle, your license could be suspended for up to 30 days.? Once you have served your suspension, you will need to provide proof of insurance and pay fines and fees that can add up to more than $200.? You can avoid this hassle if you maintain the required auto insurance coverage at all times.

When you purchase auto insurance, it is important to remember that it is not enough to purchase only the minimum insurance that is prescribed by the state. You should check your individual requirements and purchase a policy accordingly. Otherwise, the insurance cover will prove to be inadequate and you will have to shell out huge sums of money in case you are involved in an accident.

Shopping online is one of the best options as you can obtain multiple quotes from various insurance providers. You must ideally do a cost comparison and then choose the policy that best suits your requirements. It is important to first familiarize yourself with the basics before you purchase the policy. If you are unsure you may find an agent or contact the insurance company directly and they will be able to guide you. Purchase just the right insurance coverage and nothing more than what is needed. Insurance agents will be able to give you a lot of tips on how to save on auto insurance premium costs. You must ensure that you are well protected as that is the most important thing while purchasing a policy.

Factors That Affect Auto Insurance Rates

Although most of us are familiar with the factors that affect insurance rates, there may be some things that you may not be aware of. To begin with, the most important thing would be your driving record. If you have had any moving violations or at-fault accidents, then you could see your insurance rates shoot up. However, if you have had a clean record, then you could bargain for some discounts with your insurer. Every insurer will look at the number of accidents, claims submitted, etc. It will not matter if the claims made are big or small, you will still be paying up extra on your premiums for some time to come.

Some insurers have a forgiveness policy and will not hike up the premiums if it is your first at-fault accident, and if you have had a good record otherwise.

Credit history plays a significant role and can have a huge impact on your premiums. If you have a good credit history you could avail a discount on your premium. However, if you have a not-so-good credit history, you could see a sharp increase in rates.

There are lots of factors that will affect the premiums and it is important to check with your insurer prior to purchasing the policy.

高大丰满熟妇丰满的大白屁股_五十老熟妇乱子伦免费观看_日韩午夜无码精品试看